hi / reminiscing

Right now I am: Content and Imaginative.

Hello probablynoreaders! My name is Toast. If you’re one of those people who hates when I call myself Toast, you may call me Nora. Because that is my real name. But I like the idea of Toast’s Oven, so I shall refer to myself as TOAST.

Now that we’ve gotten past the awkward introduction, let me rant a bit. Tangents are my calling.

Lately, this week, I’ve been going back to a lot of my old stuff. For example, I’ve been playing a lot of old computer games I had back when I was little. I’m also finding a lot of clothes or styles that I wore when I was younger (I am 14 now)  and I’m recreating that. I am making my thoughts and my lifestyle like that of the 80s and 90s. I am finding things; movies, posters, books, music, and STUFF from the 80s and 90s and using that. I am flipping through old photo albums and old journals and just reminiscing. I wish I could live in the early 90s.

So I just got off the phone with mah best friend. Her name is Marissa. She has a wordpress too, which is basically how I got this idea.  Like her, I can never really stick with blogs. The last time, it soooo wasn’t my fault. (Remind me to explain that later) The times before that … “stuff” just got in the way. I’m pretty sure “stuff” consists entirely of laze and not much of awesome, so I apologize in advance if this blog dies. I’ll try really hard to feed it and give it sunlight, but yet again … I always say that.

I want it to be summer.

Today I was really stupid, or my head was just really congested(one: is that how you spell that? I never know. two: I’m sick, that’s why), and I didn’t know that it was March! Happy March! I’m never sure how I feel about March. I do love that “in like a lion and out like a lamb” saying about it, because it’s completely true no matter where you are … and I love the lambness.

I love summer. I can’t tell you how much I hate living in the northern part of the midwest. (I mean, I’m already in the cold part of the country, and I’m even MORE north than that. Totally not fair.) It’s cold for more than half the year. The warmness is what I cherish the most; it’s what I thrive in. Much to my parents’ dismay, the minute I’m old enough (have enough money, have a place, have a car, etc) to leave I’m packing my bags and my few possessions and hightailing it out to Nashville.

I visited Nashville in 2007 and it was a glorious trip. For one, the drive there was wonderful. We went straight down from WI (here) through Illinois to Indiana and to Kentucky and onward to TN. Kentucky was really beautiful; a bit hilly, but that’s to be expected. And Nashville was so clean! I mean, where I live, there’s garbage and glass and cigarette butts and dead animals (sometimes) lining the curbs like the inside of a recess peanut butter cup. But in Nashville, they must have litter patrol or something because I could’ve pranced in bare feet around the roads. And the people are awfully friendly, and I just love the accents. “How are youuuuuu?” Ahhh, down south. A place I could call heaven, if I believed in such a thing.

Nashville, TN at nighttime.Nashville, TN at nighttime.

That’ll be all for today. Thanks for reading, no one! 🙂

Toast.

PS. Including this PS, there are 604 words in the blog! WOO!

~ by junkinmahcranium on March 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “hi / reminiscing”

  1. Hi there, Toast. I love your entry! 🙂 And thanks for the shout out.
    The reese’s peanut butter cup comparison made me LOL. It’s so like that, too.
    🙂 I’m definitely subscribing!
    PS. That picture is beautiful.

Leave a comment