deity

Right now I am: tired but slightly inquisitive.

A few minutes ago, as I quit my game of Roller Coaster Tycoon: Loopy Landscapes (Windows 98/95), the word “deity” popped into my head and I realized that I didn’t really know what that was. And so I went and looked it up. Basically, it’s a god or a godess of something or somewhere. And that got me thinking:

What does it take to be a god or godess? For instance, how did the Egyptian gods and godesses become gods and godesses? (from now on I’ll just say “gods” for all of them) Are they strong, brave? Do theyhave to be mean or can they be nice?

And what about “gods” of countries? I think we call them kings and queens, not gods and godesses, in this case … but what makes them a good king of queen? If someone is in a royal family, or born into a royal family, do they automatically have to rule (when it’s their turn)? And if so, what if they suck? What if they’re meek and lowly, and timid? If you marry into a royal family, do you get to make decisions as an outsider? Do you have to be of a certain social class to be royal? Could you be any type of person?

Can gays and lesbians be royal, or rule?

That’s just some things I was thinking about with “deity”.

Now I am off to knit a hat for my grandmother and then grandfather. Have a great day. Sorry today’s entry was so short and bad (no answers, just annoying questions). It’ll be better next time, I promise.

Toast.

~ by junkinmahcranium on March 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “deity”

  1. Hi, Toast. I like your entry today.
    Although just because someone is meek and lowly, and timid doesn’t mean they can’t rule. They can be a quiet, thoughtful ruler and have someone else, a front man, to do public speeches and things, and they can be the brain behind it all.
    And I have no idea about gays and lesbians being able to rule. Perhaps it depends on the country?

    • What I also meant with the meek and lowly one is like WEAK. And what about stupid people??

      And I know that quiet people can rule. That goes with your whole “just because I’m quiet doesn’t mean I have nothing to say” thing, correct? Right, I agree and that’s totally not what I meant at all. Sorry if it came out like that!

Leave a Reply

 
