my own religion

Today’s word on UrbanDictionary was an “extheist“; someone who used to practice a religion but gave it up a long time ago.

I guess you could say this term used to apply to me. A few months ago, I realized that I didn’t really believe in the Christian faith I had grown up into. I branded myself with “atheist”, although the correct term would’ve been “extheist”. See, I didn’t believe in nothing, but I didn’t believe in the something that my entire church did. (Starting to sound like Stern with all my nothings and somethings!)

Recently, in the past month, I’ve begun to explore my faith and I’ve discovered that I’m a polytheist. This means, for all you people unable to click a link, that I believe in more than one god. Going further, I’m fascinated by Ancient Greek Polytheism, and I believe along that line of faith.

Now, I am also fascinated with Wiccans, Buddhists, and, hell, sometimes Catholics … thankfully, that doesn’t mean I’m going to practice any of those religions.

Frankly, I don’t even practice my newfound religion of Ancient Greek Polytheism. Why, you ask? Well …

I don’t know how.

But that’s quite alright. I’m kind of happy and relieved just having a religion in general. You wouldn’t believe the look of distaste and bad smell people gave me when I said “Oh, I’m an athiest”. Now I can tell them it was never true with an “April Fools!”. Ha, how corn-filled.

 

Toast.

 

Monotheism Cartoon

~ by junkinmahcranium on April 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
