she sings, makes rings, spreads her wings … all sorts of things!

The only thing creative about this blog will probably be the title. >.>

1: Β she sings

I suppose you could say I sing, although I don’t think I’m very good. But every time I say that, my best friend Marissa yells at me or sighs, rolling her eyes … or tells me, reluctantly, “yes Nora you are a fabulous singer”. After a year of my low self-belief (and the idiocy to utter it aloud to the same person repeatedly), she has become very annoyed and so every time I plead, without voicing my plea directly, for the usual compliment, she sounds … how do you say it? Monotone.

But that is okay. It’s not her fault. It’s mine.

I “discovered” that I liked to sing (and could do it slightly better than the screeching cats down the street) in eight grade, September 11th, 2007. A delightful day, eh? Well, that day is my old-best friend Olivia’s birthday.

I didn’t know what to get her and didn’t have much spare change, so I decided to write her a song. Mind you, this song went like this:

It’s her birthday

Olivia, Olivia

It’s her birthday

Now everybody say

Hallelujah, Hallelujah,

It’s her birth-birthdaaaaaaaay

As you can tell, it took a lot of effort.

After that, I explored my voice more and more, writing catchy songs for all occasions, like this fabulously crafted Christmas Song:

Christmas is coming
the good lord knows it is
Christmas is coming
you know cause your a whiz!
CHRISTMAS!!! IS HERE!!!
CHRISTMAS!!! IS HERE!!!
HO HO HO.
HO HO HO.
CHRISTMAS!!! IS HERE!!!

Eventually I got better, and wrote songs about love, heartaches, and friendships:

We used to be friends

We used to be friends

We used to hang out all the time

But guys, time flies

We used to Β be friends

We used to be friends

We used to spend hour to hour

Then things turned so sour

Well … slightly better.

Recently I’ve gotten the chance to record some of my more recent music in my friend’s dad’s studio, located in their very home. It’s quite amazing; singing into a microphone in a tiny closet, then hearing it back through speakers with music and percussion added. It’s a really beautiful thing.

Lately I’ve begun to appreciate this “gift” I have. Some people might really enjoy singing but be terrible at it, and that is their curse. I have few gifts, so I have realized I should cherish the ones I am blessed with.

So, Marissa, I will stop begging for that smidge of a compliment. I’m sure, deep down … deeeeeeep, DEEEEEEEEEEEEEP down, it doesn’t really bother you. But, just that little step of stopping the plea is a big change for me.

πŸ™‚

2: makes rings

What! A fun topic? One not so brooding and dark and personal! CAN IT BE?!

Yes, folk*. It can be.

I make rings! Lately, in the past .. hmm .. day, I’ve been making rings out of pretty string. Right now I am wearing seven rings. I have made one ring for my mom, one ring for my best friend, and I am working on a bunch of rings for my sister. I really like making rings.

I used to make hats, but that was more in the winter time. I think a change of season has brought a change of craft! πŸ™‚ Now it’s rings. All different colors. They’re really beautiful; I love color, and my clothes don’t pop in gloriful shades as these do. It’s lovely to look down and grin. I really love it.

Oh, there I go getting personal again. Change of subject arises!

3: spreads her wings

WHAT! A MORE PERSONAL TOPIC, AGAIN?!?!?!?! Yes, reader. Yesyesyesyesyesyesyes.

I am working on being less annoying, less creepy and jumpy, in order to “spread my wings” and make more friends. Not many people like me at school (most find me hard to handle), and a few guys I’ve really liked have been turned off because of this. Soon (if it doesn’t work so “soon”, perhaps during the summer?) I’ll be working on this. Help is appreciated but certainly not asked for.

I would also appreciate no criticism. D:

4: all sorts of things

Wait. I … I don’t think this was supposed to be a category. Shiznips!

Toast.

* I’ve decided that only one person reads my blogs as only one person comments, so I will now refer to all of you … as you, Marissa! πŸ™‚ Only when talking about “all of you” or “guys” or “folks”.

~ by junkinmahcranium on April 15, 2009.

3 Responses to “she sings, makes rings, spreads her wings … all sorts of things!”

  1. I know I am very biased, but I love your songs. Mostly because a lot of them (the one you wrote with Linnea and We Used to Be Friends) I understand and get and feel and etc. And your voice is beautiful. (I know you aren’t fishing for compliments, but there you go. In all seriousness.)

    As for the spreading your wings thing, I have no advice. I have trouble enough talking to people, let alone making friends. It takes me about 6 months to become friends with someone, and this is after being acquaintances for about a year. *shrugs* That’s why I have internet friends. Sorry I couldn’t be more of a help! 😦

  2. I READ YOUR BLOG, i’m just a silent reader. I’ll try and comment more so you know I’m here! You can’t think you sing to bad if you post videos of you singing on youtube! And on spreading your wings, yeah i have the same problem. but true friends will except that.

Leave a Reply

 
