serendipity!

This word has been in my head for a few days, and that’s for many reasons.

1) I just rewatched Dogma for the fourth-ish time. In it, there is a character played by Salma Hayek, who is all-knowing in random and accidental ways.

2) I am currently working on a full-length movie script to film, etc, over the summer and into next year. While developing the basic plot line, I wanted a plot twist. I was researching for inspiration when I came across a plot twist generator. The twists it comes up with are so ridiculous that I would never use them (example: The scene changes, and a sketchy psychic arrives and grabs your protagonist by the shirtfront. (sexual) ). Anyways, while laughing at my newly-generated outcomes, I glanced up and the title of the site is Serendipity. Que interesante!

3) I was reading a Christopher Pike (aka Kevin McFadden) book and it showed up.

So, with all of these showuppers (word? No? Oh well.), I decided to look it up, and I really like the definition, and the sound of the word itself:

ser⋅en⋅dip⋅i⋅ty [ser-uhn-dip-i-tee]

–noun

1. an aptitude for making desirable discoveries by accident.
2. good fortune; luck: the serendipity of getting the first job she applied for.


Origin:
1754; Serendip + -ity; Horace Walpole so named a faculty possessed by the heroes of a fairy tale called The Three Princes of Serendip
It just has an appeal.
If you’re interested, ask me in a week or two about the script. I’m really trying to make this one good, not another “The Day I Thought Everything Was Perfect” or “The Bridge of Friendship” or “The Day My Life Changed”, or even “The Freaky Movie”.
I’ll post those ridiculous scripts later.
Sorry this post sucked! It might be better later.
~ by junkinmahcranium on May 5, 2009.

2 Responses to “serendipity!”

  1. YO. WHAT, EXACTLY, IS WRONG WITH “THE DAY I THOUGHT EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT”?!
    🙂
    I love the new header, by the way.
    And I love seeing your name be bolded in my reader. w00t!

    • You know what I think is really amazing? How this morning I posted that blog and then I checked here in 7th hour and you had replied! I was all :O ONE COMMENT OMG. haha. Thanks for commenting.

      Well, :D, I reread it last night and it was just TERRIBLE writing. All of that was. But a nice storyline and bond of friendship or whatever, all that loveydovey shiz. But no real plot. Ha. I still wuvs you! 😀

      I’m glad you like the header. I love Snape and I love Draco and I love Slytherin and I do love Harry P and his Buddies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
