a pinky-golden light

My mom just alerted me that we’re having pesto tonight. I don’t especially like eating pesto because it gets in my teeth and braces and it really bothers me. I know that I can go and clean it out, but right after I eat, that makes me sick. So blarg.

I really haven’t been feeling well today. A bit light-headed and a tad nauseous. I mentioned that to my mom and she  said I shouldn’t eat pesto, which I guess is a plus because I just said I didn’t want it .. but it’s also not nice because I feel awful.

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ll be legit mad if Marissa takes the punishment instead of making her TSM video correctly today. But I am really excited for Marina’s because she’s made it out to be amazing, and I’m excited for Michelle’s because I have NO IDEA what she’ll sound like or make her song about .. and I’m excited for mine because I’m rather proud of it.

I’ve been editing pictures in a different way [from the aforementioned style] lately. Here’s a few..

PICT3710

PICT3731b

Basically, I play with the lighting and contrast. I really love this. Here’s a few different versions of a single picture, just to show you more what I mean. The first one is the original.

PICT3732

PICT3732b

PICT3732c

PICT3732d

Different lighting and contrast can give a picture whole new meaning and a different feel. If you vamp up the contrast but keep the lighting low, you can create a kind of eerie mood. I like to stick to the bright, contrast-filled pictures [as you can see] and put a bit of a pinky-golden light to them because it makes me feel rather happy. I think that lighting also looks the prettiest.

Vamping up the contrast is also an excellent way to hide blemishes. If the area of skin that’s most affected by blemishes is in the light, the skin will look bleached-out white and you can’t see a thing. Even if the area of skin is in the dark, the dark will override the blemishes and you, again, can’t see a thing. I totally love this photography. That last picture in the set of four is the most prominent example of the blemish thing. 🙂 For myself, I couldn’t care less about blemishes in pictures, but it’s nice when they’re “gone”, because the photo looks even better. Blemishes can be distracting, and you want people to focus.

I try to center in on eyes a lot and make them look as stunning as possible. My eyes change colors [they stick to greens, blues, and the surprising BROWN; a gift of having hazel eyes] and so I can usually make them look really gorgeous in photos. That’s another plus of editing my own pictures. 🙂

That’s all for now, really. <3!

N

~ by junkinmahcranium on August 25, 2009.

11 Responses to “a pinky-golden light”

  1. Nice pics.

    Raven
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

  2. Wait a second, if you’re going to be legit mad at me, why are we going to Goodwill tomorrow?

  3. I likey the photos 😀 the eyes are lovely ^__^

    Haha, you have no idea what mine would sound like eh? And why is that?

  4. I can’t wait for these next three songs, if they’re anything as good as M’s I’ll die of awe.
    I haven’t taken photos of myself for a website in so long…
    I should start my epic myspace style editing again.

Leave a Reply

 
