creepy religious fanatics

Since when do people refer to two-word bands with one word? Am I making sense?

Some kid was just talking to me on Facebook chat and referred to Rascal Flatts as “The Flatts”, and when I commented that I was listening to the Spice Girls, he said “Oh, the Girls?”. What the hell? The Spice Girls are not called “The Girls”. If they wanted to be called “the Girls”, that’s what they would’ve named themselves, right? But no, they named themselves the Spice Girls. So call them the effing Spice Girls. Gahh.

I don’t know why this made me so worked up. Sorry.

In the past week, about three different people have commented on my channel on Youtube. They’ve either criticized me for being a pagan witch or tried to press their creepy Christian beliefs* on me. I do not enjoy these people. I’m fine with discussing each of our religions and sharing what we believe, but I am not fine with commanding the pagan to confess her sins to Jesus Christ. Who is this Jesus? I think I’ve already told you I don’t believe in Jesus. What a ho (this chick, not the alleged Jesus. :P)

So, my mom just came up to me as I was setting the table. She told me that a woman at church had realized that I wanted to be a deacon, and had signed up about a year ago. A deacon is someone who passes out the wine and bread during communion when all the people file up.

I did want to be a deacon, but, as I said, that was about a year ago. At that time I called myself a Christian and would’ve loved to have such a high priveledge.

But now .. now, being a polytheist, I don’t think it would be really nice if I was to pass out something for another religion. People expect the deacons to at least believe in thing they’re sharing. And do I believe that this flimsy little cracker is symbolic of someone’s body? Not really.

I asked my mom what I would have to say to the people; perhaps maybe I could just hand them the basket (xD as if). She goes, “Well, it’d be really easy, you’d just have to say ‘The Body of Christ be with you-‘ “, and I cut her off at “Christ”.

Nonononononono. I told her such. “Nononononono. Sorry. No. I would feel really uncomfortable preaching the word of your christ while I’m not a Christian. Sorry to let you guys down.” But no, that wasn’t enough. She tried to make it seem like it wasn’t a big deal for me to go outside of my beliefs. But it really is. That would be just really awful for me to tell a hundred or so people that their christ is with them .. when I don’t believe their christ exists. I told my mother such and ran up the stairs.

Gahh. Was I wrong to turn down the job? They already had me signed up and I’m not sure if they have someone to fill it .. but it’s my religion we’re talking about. And wouldn’t it be untrue to the people receiving the communion? It’d be like false Jesus or something. :/

Moving on to a lighter topic, today’s SEXY MAN is Dane Cook. I don’t know why, but I find him seriously attractive. His hair is so dreamy. Gah. He has the cutest smile and a really adorable giggle. :3

Alright, that’s all for today. I love you guys. ā¤

N

* I do not think that all Christian belief is creepy. I simply think the people that come up to you and start babbling about their savior Jesus Christ and shit are creepy. The people that stereotypically wear polos and shove pamphlets into your hand at every opportunity (see Mandy Moore’s character in “Saved“)

~ by junkinmahcranium on August 28, 2009.

6 Responses to “creepy religious fanatics”

  1. I don’t think you were wrong to turn down the job. I you really wanted to do it a year ago, and they didn’t let you do it until now I’m pretty sure that they will find someone who want the job and enjoys it.

  2. I’m a Christian myself, but I HATE it when people force their beliefs on others. Honestly, that’s completely and totally obnoxious. Have you ever heard of TBN? It’s this creepy Christian channel featuring this old woman with pink hair who looks like a drag queen crying and moaning about how she “told Satan to get out of her bed”. Oh yeah, and she also begs you to donate your grocery money to God by “sending it to us!”. Mmhm. That money is so going to God…

    But anyways. BACK ON SUBJECT. It’s just rude when people look down on others just because they believe something different than you. It’s not your life to run. I mean, if they actually want to listen to what you’re saying, then go for it, but I don’t think some people realize that not everybody wants to hear about your beliefs or be told that they’re going to hell. Some of my gay friends at school are constantly telling me that they get people literally coming to their houses and calling them horrible names and telling them God hates them, and that’s just awful.

    And also, in my experience a lot of so-called Christians are really judgmental. It’s like “ooh, you don’t have taste in clothes” or “ooh, you’re weird and I can’t associate with you”. That’s why I left my old school (this really awful little home-schooling-ish thing)… I had a reputation as the weird and annoying kid, and nobody even made an effort to talk to me. And it seemed like everybody was the same- same taste in music, same sense of humor, same clothes… I felt so out of place there. Honestly, it was horrifying.

    Okay, sorry for the epically long comment…

    Ps. Have you read “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God”? We analyzed the crap out of that thing in English. Honestly, it was flipping horryfing! It was basically just “God hates you, and he’s holding you over the pits of hell, and he’s going to drop you or shoot an arrow into your heart and get drunk on your blood”. And this was at a public school. The author, John Edwards, was some sort of creepy Puritan preacher. I am so glad I didn’t live in that time period because I’m pretty sure I’d be burned at the stake or something.

  3. NORA! It’s totally right for you to not take the job. Completely and 100%. I don’t think you (or anyone, HAHA) should do anything they aren’t comfortable with. I mean, exceptions include taking risks that can help you in the long run, you know, but yeah yeah yeah.
    The “GIRLS”?! WAS IT ETHAN RADECKI?!

    I like the belt on that man. It’s protruding in a really awesomely sexual way.

    I’m a big hyper if you didn’t notice. OKAY LOVE YOU LIKE A SISTER GOODNIGHT.

  4. I’m a “big hyper”?!
    WHAT A WANKER.

  5. Completely 100% fine to turn it down. šŸ™‚
    I thought the whole point of christianity was to accept people for who they are and all that, so I find it ridiculously hilarious when they try to push their beliefs upon you. :\
    Eh, but what do I know about religion? šŸ˜›
    I could be wrong.

    Yay Nora, more power to you šŸ˜€

  6. You should never fake belief just to please others. Stick to your own ideas because they’re what defines you!

Leave a Reply

 
