GAH. nerves. GAH GAH GAH.

I was glancing down at this piece of paper that is now living on my desk, which says things I had to remember for school on Friday. The last item made me double-look, though, cuz instead of what it actually says, “PENS”, I thought it said, “PENIS”. Like, okay Nora, time to get ready for school .. don’t forget your penis!

Marissa has a penis. She told me so.

I had a really excellent day yesterday. I had good classes and a neat lab in Chemistry .. at one point we got to add a bit of magnesium to hydochloric acid, and it was SO COOL. It just started bubbling and got all frothy and the little bit of Mg started whooooooshing around the beaker like it was on speed. It was so effing awesome. I love Chem.

Also yesterday, we went to this festival in our town and that was a BLAAAST. There were these drunk women there who boogied and shook and pulled us out in front of hundreds of people to just dance. That was spectacular. This one chick who we were with refused and just sat at the picnic bench alone, looking sour, and the other girl (besides Marissa and I) who went up just stood there scoffing and swaying in the pumping beat. It was so awesome, just wiggling my boday around while this awesome band of middle-aged guys rocked out. Gah. After we sat down, they started playing “Superstitious”. I fucking LOVE that song. Gah.

Okay, that was about seven o clock this morning, and now it’s about 9:00 at night. I’m dead tired (haven’t been getting a lot of sleep recently; school) and .. well, I have to give a sermon tomorrow at church. I’m insanely nervous for it. I went to a practice today, to work out the kinks (which I did), to figure out the mic placement (which I did), and to decide a good pace (which I failed at).

I always get nervous during publc speaking, but I’m just really good at it so it doesn’t show. That’s not me being cocky, it’s just fact. It’s like, I can feel my hands and legs shaking and hear my voice warbling in fright and my hands squirming everywhere doing nothing, but NONE OF IT SHOWS. Either I imagine it or people are just bored out of their skulls. xD

Also, I’m a really good speech writer; I know that for a fact. No matter how awful my delivery seems, I know the content is awesome. BUT .. there is always a but. Or a butt. Sorry, that was odd. BUT, I read too fast when I get really really super nervous, which is rare, but it is happening today because of the following:

a) I am reading in front of 300 people. Waaaay more compared to the thirty of a normal classroom.

b) I am preaching a sermon and letting people know my personal thoughts, two things I never do, not even on this blog. I am letting people know the kinds of things I was thinking on my trip to New Orleans (what I am talking about in the sermon) that I never shared. Gahh.

c) I AM IN A ROOM FULL OF PEOPLE (300, did I mmentioned that? D:) WHO LOVE JESUS AND BELIEVE IN HIM AND WHO THINK I DO AS WELL, minus six. GAH GAH GAH GAH EFFING GAHHHHHH.

d) I am too short for the pulpit. I have to use a stepstool. People will see me bending down to grab it. They will see me apply it to the floor. They will see me rise three feet higher. Did I say GAH yet? Let me do it just in case. GAH.

That’s all I really wanted to say. I’m sorry if it sucked but whatever, my finger bones are shaking in nervosa and I do not need to be blahed at. I don’t know what that meant. GAH GAH GAH. Bye.

N

~ by junkinmahcranium on September 12, 2009.

3 Responses to “GAH. nerves. GAH GAH GAH.”

  1. I wish I could give you some awesome words of encouragement D:
    but I’m not cool enough to come up with something that doesn’t sound like the typical “good luck” comment.
    I guess I’ll just say that I love you and that you’ll rock that fucking church despite the differences in religious opinion.

    Yeah…ROCK THE FUCKING CHURCH!

  2. Gah! I can see why you’re making that noise.
    I hope it all goes well, I’m sure it will because you seem to me that you’ve got it sussed despite your worries.
    *hugs*

  3. LOLLLLL I DO NOT HAVE A PENIS.
    DUNDUNDUN your sermon. At this point of me reading it, you’ve already given it so IT’S LIKE THAT TIME THING YOU LOVE SO MUCH.
    Your sermon was so so so so so so good when I read it. I cried, I did.
    I really like that pulpit picture, but I am sorry that you’re not tall enough for it.

    See, I’d give some words of encouragement, but you’ve already given it so I AM OFF THE HOOK. Not that it’s something I need to worry about doing, but you know.
    GAH.

Leave a Reply

 
